The railways ministry has sought the approval of the Union cabinet to build three new dedicated freight corridor (DFC) networks at a total investment of about Rs 3 trillion. While the East-West Corridor (2,328km) will be built between Kolkata and Mumbai, the North-South Corridor (2,327km) is planned between Delhi and Chennai and the East Coast Corridor (1,114km) between Kharagpur and Vijaywada.